NACEP Awards Accreditation to Concurrent Enrollment Programs for Demonstrating High Quality and Rigorous Standards during the Pandemic

May 17, 2021

Concurrent Enrollment Programs offering College Courses taught by High School Instructors persevere during the Pandemic and secure NACEP Accreditation

June 1, 2021, Chapel Hill, NC - The National Alliance of Concurrent Enrollment Partnerships (NACEP) Accreditation Commission granted accreditation to three concurrent enrollment programs at colleges and universities nationwide. This brings the total number of NACEP accredited programs across the country to 119, spanning 24 states.

NACEP’s Accreditation Commission elected to postpone the 2019-2020 accreditation application cycle. This was an unprecedented decision for the Accreditation Commission but allowed programs pursuing accreditation the opportunity to adjust to the unknown realities of operating a program during a national pandemic. During their April 2020 meeting, the Commission voted to defer accreditation for Riverland Community College (MN) and Lewis-Clark State College (ID) and granted reconsideration to Hennepin Technical College (MN). Despite the disruption of the pandemic all three programs successfully demonstrated their practices, policies, and procedures met NACEP’s 16 accreditation standards in the six areas of curriculum, faculty, students, assessment, partnership, and program evaluation.

Lewis-Clark State College was awarded accreditation and is now Idaho’s sixth concurrent enrollment program to earn NACEP accreditation. Now nearly 20 years old, Lewis-Clark’s program began with one high school and 65 students. Today the program has grown to include 21 partner high schools in Idaho and Washington, serving 1,500 students at their high school, online or at the LC State campus. “LC State’s dual credit program continues to grow each year and we are excited to see it recognized for its high quality,” LC State President Cynthia Pemberton said. “When students take dual credit through LC State, they’re stepping onto a solid pathway from dual credit to a college degree, and we’re here to support them in any way we can.”

As the nation’s only accrediting body for these unique and impactful educational partnerships, NACEP’s standards serve as the model criteria for ensuring parity in faculty, course content, student outcomes and support. Receiving NACEP accreditation means an institution has met the nation’s most rigorous standard in concurrent enrollment program development, management, and evaluation across multiple, multifaceted program areas. “We are delighted to welcome Riverland, Lewis-Clark, and Hennepin to the family of NACEP accredited programs. We celebrate their commitment to students and quality and all the work that has gotten them to this important milestone,” said NACEP Executive Director, Amy Williams.

To earn accreditation from NACEP, concurrent enrollment programs conduct a self-study, document how their programs adhere to NACEP’s sixteen standards and undergo a rigorous peer-review process conducted by a team of representatives from NACEP‐accredited programs as well as the NACEP Accreditation Commission. NACEP’s accreditation is valid for five years for initial accreditation and then seven years for reaccreditation, during which time programs are expected to uphold NACEP’s standards and report annually on program practices.

Institutions Earning Initial Accreditation:

  • Hennepin Technical College (MN)
  • Lewis-Clark State College (ID)
  • Riverland Community College (MN)